Cloth Diapering Decision

My husband and I have been throwing around the idea of cloth diapering for some time now.  We both really love the idea of cloth diapering, but we weren’t sure if it would work for us.  The downfall in making the decision is we really have no one to go to for experience.  Many of our close friends do not have children yet, so it makes it hard to get advice from people we love and trust when we are the first ones pioneering this new experience.  I know that we will become the go-to for parental questions in the future so I’m trying to learn as much as I can about this thing called parenthood and all the choices that comes with it.

The decision to cloth diaper or not, for us, came down to these factors…

1.  Initial price of purchasing all the cloth diapering materials.  What if we bought it all and then found out it really wouldn’t work for us? What cloth diaper brand should we use? What type of cloth diaper to use?

2. Could a working mom really keep up with the demand of time that cloth diapering would take? We still have no decided if I will be a stay at home mom or if I will be going back to work.  I thought that cloth diaper upkeep would take tons of time and I didn’t know if I would be able to give it the time it deserved.

3. Would we have to purchase new diapers every time the child grows?  I didn’t want to have to buy a whole new set of cloth diapers when my child grew to the next size.

We went to our friends house for dinner recently and there was another couple there who had two young children.  She whipped out cloth diapers and Justan and I immediately attacked her with questions.  What kind are those? Is it easy? How much did it cost to start out? When did you start? Do you have many leaks? When did you have to purchase new sized diapers? How do you clean them? What detergent do you use? How do you strip the diapers?  The poor lady was probably wondering who these crazy first-timers were and why they had so many questions.   She was so sweet to answer all of our questions and to make cloth diapers look easy.  She told us the pros and the cons and by the end of our discussion we were 100% on board with cloth diapering.

When we got home I immediately did more research than I have in the last 8 months I’ve been pregnant.  I googled, pinterested (I don’t think that is even a word), read a crazy amount of blog posts, looked at reviews, watched youtube videos, went to websites and did a whole lot of thinking.  I am now 100% sure I want to cloth diaper and I think it will be a piece of cake.

All the research may it so much easier to answer the three main concerns we had in the beginning and now I feel confident we are making the right decision.

1.  Initial price of purchasing all the cloth diapering materials.  Now, let me first say the initial cost differs depending on the brand of cloth diapers that you will be purchasing and the type of cloth diaper that will work best for you and your family.  After much research we will be using one size pocket diapers by Sunbaby with the microfiber/bamboo blend inserts.  I think we will start with buying 24 of the size 1 diapers that come with 48 microfiber/bamboo inserts which costs $168.  We were planning on using the Honest Company diapers that are delivered to your door on a monthly basis with a months worth supply of diapers and wipes for $70.  So buying the whole 24 pack of cloth diapers would equal out to approximately 2.5 months of the Honest Company diapers.  We already purchased 1 pack of newborn diapers from the Honest Company for the first couple days of having baby and we will most likely use the Honest Company diapers any time we need a disposable diaper.

Along with diapers and inserts there are a couple other cloth diapering essentials that you will need.

– Wipes: When we are home we will be using re-usable wipes.   I will most likely make my own reusable wipes out of flannel.  I found some awesome tutorials on creating them.  I do not sew nor do I have a sewing machine so I may ask my grandma for some help with this.  When we are out and about or if I end up going back to work we will use disposable wipes during that time.  Here are some helpful tutorials I found on Pinterest…






<——Wipe tutorial from Crafting a Green World 






<— Homemade Reusable Baby Wipes from Our Full Table




wipe warmer




Wipe Warmer:  I hear that this gadget is a MUST.  It can work for our homemade wipes and disposable wipes.









Diaper Pail:  I have heard great things about this diaper pail.  Yes, its more expensive, but its stainless steel and you can use reusable liners.  I think its worth the couple extra dollars.






waterproof wet bag





Wet bags/Waterproof bags: I hear that these come in handy while out and about.  I’ve also heard you can keep a bag where you may be changing diapers that is not close to the diaper pail.




diaper pail liner




Diaper Pail Liner: I hear that if you have two you can keep washing them along with all your dirty diapers.  I liked the look of the Planet Wise Liners…plus they have some cute patterns.





2. Could a working mom really keep up with the demand of time that cloth diapering would take? YES!  This one was a HUGE one for me.  I have been so worried if I was to go back to work if I would be able to keep up with cloth diaper upkeep and the answer is YES.  It really wouldn’t take that much more time and depending on how many diapers we have it could be even more do-able.

3. Would we have to purchase new diapers every time the child grows?  No there are one size diapers that fit babies from 8 pounds to 35 pounds.  I didn’t know there were buttons and ways of changing the size of diapers.  I thought they were just like any other disposable diaper in sizing and if that was the case I could NOT afford it!

This blog, Wifessionals really hit home with me and made me feel as if cloth diapering was the THING to DO.  I’m so glad I stumbled upon here website while looking on Pinterest….I didn’t even find it searching for cloth diaper information.

I’m so glad I was able to spend some of my time on my break to research and get to know more about cloth diapering.  I’m sure there is lots more I could learn and I can’t wait to make a updated post when I find out what that stuff is.


2 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering Decision

Leave a Reply

